The Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

Nathaniel Brandon and self-esteem

Nathaniel Branden is a therapist and lecturer who pioneered the development of the theory behind self-esteem. He spent more than seven decades refining his concepts and compiling his ideas into his most comprehensive book: “The Six Pillars of Self-Esteem.”  He has written more than 30 other books detailing individual pillars.

The Six Pillars are detailed steps on how a person can build their self-esteem. Brandon also defines the parameters of self-esteem in his work. He brought defined clarity to an otherwise gray subject area.

Brandon took his concepts of self-esteem and lectured on practical applications in business. While self-esteem is generally considered a personal pursuit, it can also apply to business models. When used successfully, it can create a more successful business. Brandon also founded the Brandon Institute for Self-Esteem;  This is a counseling center in Los Angeles, California, where Brandon specializes in teaching self-esteem techniques.

What is self-esteem?

Nathaniel Brandon helped clearly define self-respect and self-esteem. He believed that two components define self-esteem:

  • Self-efficacy
  • Self-respect

Self-efficacy is a person’s confidence in coping with life’s challenges. Self-esteem is the belief that a person deserves happiness and love.

Self-esteem is how a person perceives and evaluates himself. It relates to the emotional and cognitive way a person experiences themselves as they move through their lives. Self-esteem is about treating the facts of life with respect. It means consciously accepting life and not rejecting the elements that make up a person. Self-esteem is a person’s acceptance of responsibility for their actions and societal role.

The concept also refers to a person’s cognitive ability to learn and make good life decisions based on facts presented. A person with healthy self-esteem can respond appropriately to changes in life. Self-esteem will increase from adolescence to middle adulthood.

Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

The Practice of Conscious Living

All spiritual traditions explain that most people are asleep throughout their existence. Enlightenment is identified with awakening.

Consciousness: The state of being aware of some aspect of reality

Living consciously means trying to get everything in line with what we see and know—to the best of our ability, whatever that means—with our actions, goals, values, and goals.

Living consciously means respecting the facts of reality.

Fear and pain should be viewed as signals to keep our eyes open instead of closing them.


  • Living in the moment
  • Distinguish the facts
  • the ability to recognize and deal with the urges to run from or reject unpleasant or risky truths.
  • Commitment to growth
  • Willingness to accept new knowledge and reexamine old assumptions

The practice of self-recognition

  • Level 1. Self-worth that you are alive and conscious
  • Level 2. Willingness to experience without denial, that we think and feel what we believe, what we desire, what we have done, and what we are… deny no part of this.

Acceptance is not always the same…

  • Level 3. Self-compassion.  Whatever you do, realize that there are underlying reasons, and that’s it…like someone else fills you in

“When we fight a jam, it gets stronger. As we admit, it begins to dissolve with experience and acceptance.

Use of self-responsibility

I need a sense of control over my existence to feel competent and worthy of happiness.

Be responsible for achieving my desires

  • No one owes me my will
  • There are two sorts of organizations: those who take responsibility for the problem and those that wait for someone else to solve it.


  • What are the possible actions? What should be done? How can I improve my situation?

Independent thinking

No one comes

  • One of the most important ideas to understand is that nobody is there.
  • If I don’t do something, nothing will get better.

   Self Confidence

  • respecting my wants, goals, and beliefs and looking for effective ways to express them in reality
  • Bringing us into the world. Holding values ​​are not permanent. Mastering them and pursuing them takes self-confidence
  • One cannot think of oneself as an idealist without putting values ​​into practice
  • Without assertiveness, we are spectators, not participants. Healthy self-esteem asks us to jump into the fray
  • It’s not good to not face things or people; your self-esteem knows you’re a bit lazy.
  • Courage to be selfish is essential.

The Habit of Deliberate Living

  • Don’t live with hopes or desires. Do or don’t, no effort.
  • To live without a purpose is to live by chance. A coincidence, a chance phone call, a chance meeting, because we have no standard to judge. Live like a cork floating on the water without any initiative or purpose.
  • Please take responsibility for one’s goals and objectives
  • Monitoring behavior to make sure you are living up to your values
  • Focus on the results of your actions
  • It is necessary to balance present life with goals for the future
  • It is essential to prepare the time allocation for the goals

  Using Personal Integrity

  • Integrity increases our importance along with our self-esteem
  • When our behavior is consistent with our stated values, ideals, and practices, we have personal integrity.
  • When we go against our values, we lose face in our own eyes.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many pillars of self-esteem does Nathaniel Brandon describe?

Nathaniel Brandon believes that six different pillars contribute to a person’s self-esteem development. He believes that by following these six pillars, a person can lead a healthy, confident life.

What is self-esteem, according to Nathaniel Branden?

Nathaniel Brandon believes that self-esteem is made up of self-efficacy and self-respect. Self-efficacy is a person’s confidence to face life’s challenges successfully. Self-esteem is the belief that a person deserves happiness and love.

What are the six pillars of self-esteem, and why are they important?

The six pillars of self-esteem are:

    Living consciously.

    Accept yourself.

    Accepting responsibility for a person’s actions.


    Living with a purpose.

    Having personal integrity.

    They are essential because they help a person develop his self-esteem.

Please let us know your opinion in the comment section below.